A new bicycle safety law went into effect July 1 that impacts Georgia drivers.

When passing a bicyclist, a driver must move over into the adjacent lane if it is safe and legal to do so. If the driver is unable to move over, they must slow down to a speed that is either ten miles below the posted speed limit or 25mph, whichever is higher.

As currently required by law, drivers must also allow at least 3 feet of room between their vehicle and a bicyclist when passing.

Click here to learn more about bicycle safety in Georgia.

Banner-min

RATE THIS POST

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
(No Ratings Yet)
Loading...